Canfield Crib
 

Welcome to our house!

 
balazs-busznyak-528347-unsplash.jpg

YIKES!

Before I purchased the house, apparently it looked like this on the left…

… though I’m thankful it was flipped before I had to see it in this scary state!

The Tenants

jason-leung-479251-unsplash.jpg

HI, I'M ELYSE!

Elyse Switzerland.JPG

I've owned the house since December 2014, and it's been a fun ride ever since. I'm a 2010 WSU alumni with a strong emoji game and a deep love for holidays. I currently work for Squarespace in downtown Portland (hence this website), absolutely love my position, and have been there since July 2014. When I'm not working, I enjoy:

+ The cumulus clouds of the PNW
+ Sexy typography
+ A tidy room
+ Deep lakes
+ Eating at Thai Orchid (as Sarah does!)
+ Creating websites
Yelp
+ Hanging out with my family
+ Almost any HBO and/or Netflix series
+ Cuddling the crap out of Alvin
+ Discovering jams on Spotify
+ Being active
+ Baking (cookies only - I'm not much of a chef)
+ Organization
+ My boyfriend, Marshal ♥

Hey, I'm Marshal.

Marshal.JPG

I was born and raised in Vancouver, WA, and went to school here, initially studying business. After traveling to Finland in 2011 and working at a buddy's group home, though, I realized my true calling is nursing and taking care of others. (Elyse teases me because I get along with elderly folk more than I do people our age.) So, I've been working as a dialysis technician at Davita since 2017, and before that, I was doing the same at a different dialysis company, Fresenius. Here's some stuff I enjoy:

+ Most sports, though football, fútbol, golf, and basketball are my favorites
+ Spending time with my family
+ A cold Coors
+ Playing video games
+ Classic and psychedelic rock
+ Pizza (from Napoli, mostly and unfortunately)
+ Lifting
+ Helping Elyse around the house with random "chores"
+ Football season
+ Traveling
+ My girlfriend, Elyse ♥ (she wrote this, obviously)

Hi, I'm Sarah!

Sarah2.jpg

I went to Western Washington University in Bellingham and graduated with a degree in political science and gender studies. I moved down to Vancouver last spring to work on a political campaign and have enjoyed living down here ever since. I loved it so much that I decided to stay post campaign! Now, I am working for my former candidate, Rep. Monica Jurado Stonier as her legislative assistant, so I split my time between Olympia and Vancouver.  When I have downtime, I love:

+ Finding a new show on Netflix
+ Volunteering for some awesome political orgs
+ Playing board games (I recently discovered Exploding Kittens!) 
+ Discovering a new Thai restaurant (Thai Orchid in Vancouver and Mekong Thai in Olympia are my current faves) 
+ Relaxing with a nice glass of wine and my current read, Game of Thrones
+ Traveling to see my non-Vancouver friends
+ Snapchatting
+ Petting Alvin, of course!! 

 

Hi, I'm Alvin! 

Elyse and Marshal picked me up from the Vancouver Humane Society mid March 2015, and I've been making myself at home ever since. While I may look like your average cat, don't let me fool you - I've got many tricks up my paws, and my dog-like tendencies often thrill the humans. Here's what you need to know about me:

+ My cheeks are so large, my friends at the Humane Society named me Alvin (after the chipmunk).
+ If you rub these chubby cheeks of mine, I'll remain forever faithful to you.
+ I'm a bit older, so I mostly sleep and cuddle all day.
+ I need to be in a room with my human friends at all times.
+ I enjoy watching those red-breasted birds eat from mama's feeder.
+ I'm definitely not a shy guy.

Hi, I'm Boo! 

Elyse and Marshal adopted me from one of Marshal's coworkers in August 2018. They were initially talking about getting a golden retriever puppy from a breeder, but puppies, while cute, can be annoying. Plus, I'm a black lab/retriever mix and was already both potty and crate-trained when I moved into the Canfield Crib. If you don't love me yet, let me tell you the following:

+ I'll obey your commands like a good girl, though I do appreciate a treat every now and then.
+ I started living with Elyse and Marshal when I was just a year old.
+ I want that fat cat to hang out with me, but he's too much of an old grandpa to entertain my playful side.
+ Elyse tells me I smell delicious.
+ Marshal tells me to go potty.

 

Testimonials

Testimonials Banner.jpg
Alexa.jpg

Alexa, 2017-2018

I lived with Elyse and Sarah for a little over a year. I can easily say it’s the best roommate living situation I’ve had. These girls were very easy to get along with and were great to come home to. The house was always clean and well-kept.  I felt comfortable coming to Elyse with any concerns or needs I had, and she was quick to respond to them. To top it all off, Elyse also houses the cutest cat of all time, Alvin. I will miss his cute little chipmunk cheeks and daily good morning meows. If I hadn't got married, I would have loved to stay longer. Thank you, Elyse and Sarah! I will miss you both very much!

Sam.jpg

Sam, 2015-2016

Elyse is such an amazing roomie! She has been so welcoming, easygoing, and comforting. I love coming home to a clean, great-smelling, and beautifully-decorated place. We've had many nights crafting, drinking wine, and watching some awfully awesome TV shows (e.g. The Bachelor, Married at First Sight, and all of the home improvement shows). Sarah came to us a little while ago and had been equally as great. She's gone most of the time, but she has definitely let me talk her ear off and catch up when we're both home! I'm so thankful to have been given the opportunity to live here for almost 2 years. It has flown by, and I wouldn't change anything! I'm sad to be leaving but thankful to have gained two great friends!! Oh, and Alvin is only the best cat in the world, I'm sure my Snapchat friends are going to miss seeing his amazingness!

Amanda.jpg

Amanda, 2015-2016

Elyse and Sam are the version of perfect roommates you only read about! These girls, who were complete strangers to me, have become family! I was rarely home with them because we worked opposite schedules, however, I ALWAYS loved coming home to them having a glass (or bottle) of wine and doing crafts to decorate for the up coming holidays! The house is always festive, smelling good, and CLEAN! I'm sad I'm leaving for the summer, but I'll for sure be crashing a handful of the house BBQs! I'm gonna miss living with these girls, the roomie dates, and craft time, but I'm so glad I got to be the first roommate. 😜 P.s. - I'll miss Keekers, the only cat I'll ever love, too!